40 Days of Prayer for America

It dawned on me recently that in spite of everything I’m seeing on social media, the Bible does not actually command us to vote. That’s not to say we can’t or we shouldn’t. But it’s not a command. It reassures me to remember that God worked incredible wonders in kingdoms and empires that did not enjoy the democratic process.

However, the Bible does command us to pray “for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness” (1 Timothy 2:2). And it also offers the principle of seeking “the peace and prosperity of the city … because if it prospers, you too will prosper” (Jeremiah 29:7).

I don’t think my vote this November will change the course of our country. But I do believe that my prayers might. So, starting Friday, I’ll be joining thousands of others in a 40-day season of prayer for our nation. Every Home for Christ has spearheaded this initiative. You can choose one of their two excellent prayer guides to lead you through these 40 days. I’ll be using the “Grace for America” prayer guide. But there is also one called “Fast Forward America.”

Interested in joining us? Go to http://www.acpr.org/fast-forward for information and to download a prayer guide.

 

Leave a Reply

