Quit Praying!

I’m taking a short vacation from blogging. During this time I’d like to share with you some posts from other people who had interesting and challenging things to say. I hope you enjoy them as much as I did. This one comes from Mark Batterson.

One of the defining moments in my prayer life happened a decade ago. I was in a small group with a friend who worked for InterVarsity Christian Fellowship at Georgetown University. Jeremy was working on a shoestring budget, and their campus ministry needed a computer. He shared the request at the end of our meeting, and I agreed to pray for it, but when I started praying for it, I felt that the Lord wanted me to stop praying. It was like the Holy Spirit said, “Why are you asking Me? You’re the one with the extra computer!” I quit praying in mid-sentence. I told Jeremy we didn’t need to pray about it because I had an extra computer he could have. (Read the entire post at http://www.faithgateway.com/quit-praying?utm_source=fgtoday&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=fgtoday20160730&spMailingID=51946907&spUserID=MTU2NzY5NTA3MTkwS0&spJobID=964268361&spReportId=OTY0MjY4MzYxS0#.V7mwbPkrLIU.)

2 thoughts on “Quit Praying!

  1. Lea Ann says:

    Love this! Yes, God often wants us to be the answer to our prayers. Had example recently of car given to our pastor – a couple had been praying all summer about the car situation and how much for asking price – the Lord led them separately in their prayers and then corporately to just give them the car. Yay God!!

  2. Thank you for this! I love the way he ended it and I immediately thought of what God had spoken to me to DO two days ago rather than pray more about it🙄

Leave a Reply

