Worship for Sleepless Nights

I don’t even remember her name, I’m sorry to say. But oh, how I remember her prayers! Years ago, she and I attended the same weekly prayer meeting. Every week you could count on her to worship God in the most creative way.

She’d start with the letter A: “Lord, I Adore You!.” Then she’d move through the alphabet with an expression of praise for every letter. “You’re Beautiful!” … “Desire of Nations”  … “Faithful Friend, Glorious, Hiding Place, I AM.” On she’d go, leaving no letter untouched. “You are Quintessentially Magnificent,” “eXtravagant, my heart Yearns for You, Zion’s Praise.”

It’s been many years since I heard that dear older saint pray. But recently God reminded me of her. It was the middle of the night, actually, one of those nights when I couldn’t sleep. I’d already interceded for everything and everybody I could think of. And then I remembered this sweet woman’s “Alphabet Praise.” And I tried it.

It was so much better than counting sheep! With my mind focused on worshiping God, I hardly cared if I slept or not. It was fun to realize just how many ways there are to praise Him! And the funny thing is, the next morning I couldn’t remember how far I’d gotten. But I do know that I was asleep long before I got to the hard ones—QRSTUVWXYZ.

For me, Alphabet Praise has become a very practical way to put into practice the words of King David: “On my bed I remember you; I think of you through the watches of the night” (Psalm 63:6).

 

2 thoughts on “Worship for Sleepless Nights

  1. […] So God taught me to use “Alphabet Praise” to help me focus on Him instead of the concerns that preoccupied me. The idea is simple: I think of attributes and praise Him for them, one at a time from A-Z. Usually I fall asleep long before I get to “Z.” (See “Worship for Sleepless Nights.”) […]

  2. Joan Pekrul says:

    I have many sleepless nights, so I pray for who ever comes to my mind. If I’m still awake I will Praise our Lord with the alphabet!!!!
    Awesome idea!

    God Bless you and keep you,
    Joan

Leave a Reply

