An All-Purpose Prayer for Everyone on Your Prayer List

Okay, that’s a cheesy title, I admit. And if you know me at all, you know that I don’t usually use a lot of generic prayers (“Lord, Have Mercy” being a notable exception). That’s because I usually like to talk to God about my loved ones and let Him help me to pray exactly what is needed, when it is needed. Nevertheless, when I was reading Colossians the other day, I rediscovered a prayer that really is perfect for anyone and everyone.  The prayer is just that good!

Here it is:

We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives,so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God,being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience. (Colossians 1:9-11)

I thought of the people I most often pray for and the issues that concern them. They want me to pray that God will help them find a mate, overcome depression, grieve a loss, deal with red tape, wait for a prodigal, manage finances, save a marriage, or heal from illness. Does my prayer list sound similar to yours? But here’s the really cool thing—the prayer Paul prayed for the Colossians covers everything these dear ones need most!

After all, who doesn’t need “great endurance and patience” for situations like these?

Who doesn’t need “all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives”?

Who doesn’t need to be “strengthened with all [God’s] power?

And, whether they know it right now or not, who doesn’t ultimately want to be in God’s will, “[pleasing] Him in every way” and “bearing fruit in every good work?

As I meditated on and prayed that short text, I realized that the bottom line is knowing God and knowing His will. The best we can ever do is to be filled with the knowledge of His will and continually getting to know Him better—in real relationship and experience. When we really understand how good, beautiful, strong, and kind our God really is, everything else falls into place, whether relationships, jobs, health, finances, or reputations.

One thought on “An All-Purpose Prayer for Everyone on Your Prayer List

  1. Marlene LeFever says:

    Thanks. And thAnks for the intro to vision trust too. We start home tomorrow through Brussels. The safari was amazing. Marlene

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

